Serafín M. Coronel-Molina, Associate Professor in Literacy, Culture and Language Education at the School of Education, has been named an Bicentennial Professor by the IU Office of the Bicentennial.

Crystal Tyler isn’t a typical School of Education undergraduate student. For starters, she’s a mother to Annalee, 11, and Miriam, almost 4. At 19, Tyler was widowed, and now at age 33, she will finally graduate with her teaching degree this month.

School of Education Dean Lemuel Watson has been awarded the 2018 Warrior Award from the International Colloquium on Black Males in Education. Watson is one of four recipients of the award that recognizes individuals who have provided long-standing service, commitment and leadership focused on the most difficult challenges impacting black males in education globally.

Chad Lochmiller, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership in the department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, has won the 2018 Jack A. Culbertson Award. The award is presented annually to an outstanding junior educational leadership professor in recognition of his/her significant contributions to the field of educational leadership.

It was 7 at night in Costa Rica. The public sector strike against the government’s new reforms was underway. All doors to schools were locked tight. However, twelve students, all women between the ages of 18 and 39, sat outside their school gates with pencils, notepads and phones ready to learn.

Dena Cushenberry-Burrello, Judith A. DeMuth, James B. Luther and Frederick A. Taylor, Jr., were chosen as distinguished alumni because of their numerous contributions to the field of education, health services and veterans affairs, amongst many other achievements.

Teaching in the Navajo Nation is one option for Global Gateway students who want to stay in the United States. The program can have such an impact on students, they may go on to accept full-time positions in the communities where they taught.

Sally Gaskill, Russ Skiba and Karen Hallet-Rupp were recognized for the outstanding services they provided to students, faculty, staff and the community during their tenure at Indiana University.

Gretchen Butera, Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, has been named the Edward A. and Mary Lou Otting Chair in Special Education.

Carmen Medina, associate professor in the Literacy, Culture and Language Department, has received funding for a project to enhance and develop teacher skill and knowledge in the area of critical literacy with young critical readers and writers.

Three graduate students in the Literacy, Culture and Language Education Department are the recipients of doctoral dissertation grants from The International Research Foundation for English-Language Education.

Anne Leftwich, associate professor with Instructional Systems Technology, has received a $101,000 grant from Google for her project on problem-based learning curriculum for computer science. Leftwich will work with local sixth-grade teachers and their students, will be developing an app to tackle bullying in school.

Kerrie Wilkins-Yel, assistant professor in Counseling and Education Psychology, is the principal investigator for the study in collaboration with Drs. Jennifer Bekki, Bianca Bernstein, and Ashley Randall at Arizona State University.

Ginette Delandshere has been named interim Executive Associate Dean, while Sarah Lubienski is being appointed as interim Associate Dean for the Office of Graduate Studies and Jill Shedd will assume leadership for the Office of Undergraduate Studies.

Jacks Cheng, a Ph.D. student in Counseling and Educational Psychology, has been awarded the Social Science and Humanities Research Council doctoral award from the Canadian federal government and the Quebec provincial government.

Wagers will be student teaching in the fall as he completes his degree in secondary education at the School of Education this December. He credits the experience he gained during his time cadet teaching in an eighth-grade social studies classroom with solidifying his decision to go into education.

Two awards from the Indiana University School Administrators Association were given out at this year’s Martha McCarthy Law and Policy Institute.

Watson, a widely published Fulbright Scholar and internationally known expert in higher education and policy, has been named dean of the Indiana University School of Education in Bloomington. The appointment was approved today by the IU Board of Trustees at its meeting in Gary. Watson will begin his appointment Aug. 1.

Senior Amanda Cahill’s final season as part of the women’s basketball team is one she—and the rest of the university—will always remember. But her time on the team was also an ideal preparation for becoming a teacher.

Scott graduates this May with his Masters in Higher Education and Student Affairs, along with a certificate in education law.

Dr. Stephanie Power-Carter, Associate Professor of Literacy, Culture, and Language Education, has been honored with the 2018 William H. Wiggins Faculty Award in Support of Teaching and Mentoring in the African American and African Diaspora Studies at Indiana University (AAADS).

Associate Professor Jessica Nina Lester and Assistant Professor Chad R. Lochmiller, along with their co-editor Rachael Gabriel, received the 2018 Outstanding Qualitative Research Book Award from the Qualitative Research-Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association.

Activism is an important part of junior Mallory Burris’s plans for a future classroom. It’s also an big part of her life at IU.

The group also celebrated eight Balfour students participating in overseas studies this year thanks to a scholarship gift from the Jongsma family for the Balfour Scholars Program.

Susan Whiston, Katy Pastel, Wendy Marencik, Ben Edmonds, Frank DiSilvestro and Erna Alant worked to improve education around the world through their various fields of expertise and collectively gave over 100 years of service to Indiana University.

Kat Posada from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School engaged in a thoughtful discussion with educators at the IU School of Education about her experience the day of the deadly shooting and the role of teachers in helping students cope.

Sam Museus, an Associate Professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs at the School of Education, has been recognized with an award from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators.

In recognition of Black History Month we honor the first African American graduate of the IU School of Education and co-founder of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.