Celebration of Excellence

Celebration of Excellence 2024

The Celebration of Excellence is an annual tradition where we honor the outstanding achievements from across the School of Education. Whether through accomplishments in research, diversity or international engagement, we are so proud of the work done at the SOE during this academic year.

See a full list of the winner's below. Photos from the ceremony can be found at our Facebook page.

Award for Outstanding Research
Adam Maltese (C&I)

Award for Outstanding Partnership and Collaboration
Heather Ormiston (CEP)

Award for Outstanding International Engagement
Serafin Coronel-Molina (C&I)
Victor M. H. Borden (ELPS)

Martha Dawson Award for Outstanding Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Achievement
James Brooks (CEP)

Burton W. Gorman Distinguished Teaching Award
Lucinda Carspecken (CEP)

Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Amy Hackenberg (C&I)

Deans Advisory Council Student Choice Award
Cindy Stark (C&I)

C&I Department Awards

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Jingyun (Joey) Wu

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Ryan Cowden

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Patricia A. Walsh

Trustees Teaching Award
Robert Kunzman

Trustees Teaching Award
Marjorie Manifold

Trustees Teaching Award
Lauren Ray

CEP Department Awards

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Katie Haus

Outstanding Adjunct
Anna Merrill

Trustees Teaching Award
Andrés Pérez-Rojas

ELPS Department Awards

Trustees Teaching Award
Oscar E. Patrón

LDAE Department Awards

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Zach Ryan

Trustees Teaching Award
Gamze Ozogul

Student Academic Center

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award
Aaminah Long

Undergraduate Awards

Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity School of Education Nominees
Jahlea Douglas
Sylvie Morgan

IACTE Future Educators
Ella Cline
Annie Prasco
Jalynn Cooper
Addison Stailey
Carole Oebker

Honorable mentions:
Aubrey Neese
Anna Tilbury

Case Challenge Winners
1st - Olivia Wood & Anna Miller
2nd - Michelle Stankard & Jared Adley
3rd - Mackenzie Pierce, Emerson Miller, & Sophie Glazer

M. Jane Kaho Staff Recognition Award
Jade Barcus

Nancy Boatner
Maria Jensen
Sam Mills

23-24 Holmes Scholars
Tiondra Little
Lex Weber
Yaitza Rodriguez
Jerquil Campbell
Jayla Langford
Esther Namakula

23-24 Armstrong Teacher Educators

Amy Stevens, Elementary Technology, STEM, Tri Elementary
Shaun Wines, High School Science, Clinton Prairie High School
Melissa Adelsperger, High School English, Union City Junior-Senior HS
Emily Bettis, Kindergarten, Edgewood Primary School
Sharita Ware, Middle School STEM, East Tipp Middle School
Kristin McGuire, Kindergarten Dual Language, Washington Primary
Kelly Agnew, Elementary All subjects, West View Elementary
Amanda Beck, High School Foreign Language, William Henry Harrison High School
Michael Gilliam, Middle School STEM, East Washington Middle School
Elizabeth Burton, High School English Language Arts, Hammond Academy of Science and Technology
Deborah Kletch, Junior High School Science, Fishers Junior High School
Dacia Campbell, Middle School English Language Arts, Eastern Greene Middle School

23-24 Jacobs Educators

Bethany Bammann, 5th grade teacher, Guilford Elementary, Plainfield Community School Corporation
Erin Bangel, 3rd grade teacher, Clarks Creek Elementary, Plainfield Community School Corporation
Abigail Carter, 1st grade teacher, Guilford Elementary, Plainfield Community School Corporation
Colleen Rock, Digital Citizenship, Computer Science teacher, Kahler Middle School
Cierra Simmons, 5th grade teacher, Edgewood Intermediate School
Elaine Townsend, PLTW Biomedical Science teacher, Plainfield High School