A new installation has gone up in the Atrium of the Wright Education Building, bringing even better technological capabilities to the IU School of Education community. The IQ-Wall is a large format, ultra-high resolution, tiled video display system developed by the UITS Advanced Visualization Lab.

Vesna Dimitrieska, coordinator of global education initiatives at Indiana University’s Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies and School of Education, has received the 2024 Central States Paul Simon Award for her work advancing world language education in Indiana.

Myeshia Price has won the Rosalind Franklin Society Special Award in Science for contributions to transgender health. This award is given to the best paper of the year by a woman or underrepresented minority in each of the Mary Ann Liebert Inc. journals in health, medicine, and biotechnology.

Six teams of IU School of Education students spent last month engaging in meaningful research and interacting with statewide education professionals about a real-world education challenge: confronting the teacher shortage in Indiana.

Jillian Kinzie has won the George Kuh Award for Outstanding Contribution to Literature and/or Research from NASPA. Kinzie said working with Kuh to discover and document educational effective practices at colleges and universities and to shape and problematize student success in college has been central to her career in higher education.

Chris Lubienski has been selected as a 2024 Fellow of the American Educational Research Association. The AERA Fellows Program honors scholars for their exceptional contributions to, and excellence in, education research.

In honor of Women’s History Month, the newest edition of Diverse: Issues in Higher Education highlights 40 women who have made a difference by tackling some of higher education’s toughest challenges, exhibiting extraordinary leadership skills, and making a positive difference in their respective communities.

Theresa A. Ochoa and Sandi Cole have both been recognized with teaching awards from Indiana University. Ochoa will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award, while Sandi Cole will receive the Part-Time Teaching Award.

The history of the IU School of Education has been told for the first time through a new book. Written by Frederic Lieber, “A Disciplined Mind and Cultivated Heart: Indiana University School of Education at 100” tells the rich, illustrated history of the state’s leading research and teacher education institution.

Last month, the AI Goes Rural team warmly welcomed 23 K-12 educators from nine different schools across Indiana to participate in "Middle School AI Explorers: Professional Development for Educators."

Andrés Pérez-Rojas, an associate professor in Counseling and Educational Psychology, received the 2024 Rising Star Award from the National Multicultural Conference and Summit.

Last semester, a diverse group of faculty from IU attended the fourth International Scientific Conference of Higher Education hosted by Santa Clara’s Universidad Central “Marta Abreu” Las Villas (UCLV) in Cuba.

Professor Keith Barton has won the Jean Dresden Grambs Distinguished Career Research in the Social Studies Award from the National Council for the Social Studies. Barton was honored for his extensive, meritorious contributions to the body of knowledge on important issues in social studies education.