Armstrong Teacher Educator Award

Armstrong Teacher Educator Award

We bring some of Indiana’s best educators to Bloomington to work with future teachers. The Armstrong Teacher Educator Award is more than a “teacher of the year” award. In addition to recognizing educator excellence, the award provides financial support for top Indiana educators to work with current IU faculty and undergraduates in the classroom and early field experiences.

Since 1997, this award has been funded through the generosity of the Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Fund and the Cook Group companies.

Responsibilities of Armstrong Teacher Educators

Armstrong Teacher Educators take an active role in shaping the next generation of teachers. For all recipients, that means traveling to Bloomington to participate in panel discussions of current issues in education, as well as inviting IU students to their own classrooms to observe and learn. Some Armstrong winners also become Teachers-in-Residence and make regular trips to campus throughout the year to visit classes and collaborate with IU faculty on their curriculum, as well as conduct workshops on career development or related professional issues.

The Benefits of Becoming an Armstrong Teacher Educator

Armstrong Teacher Educators receive reimbursement for travel and lodging expenses when visiting the Bloomington campus, funding to pay for a substitute teacher while they’re away from the classroom, and a $750 honorarium for their participation in fall semester discussion panels at IU.

To recognize and support their intensive involvement throughout the school year, Armstrong Teachers-in-Residence receive additional funding and support.