Severe

IUB FINAL update: Power has been restored to residence halls, IMU and other areas. Full restoration expected soon. We continue to monitor the situation.

December 1, 2022, 9:42 PM EST

IUB FINAL update: Power has been restored to residence halls, IMU and other areas. Full restoration expected soon. We continue to monitor the situation.

Diversity Report

2021 Diversity Report

Faculty Sex DiversityTenure TrackNon Tenure Track
Male349
Female4629
Unknown/Non-Binary1--
Faculty Race/Ethnicity DiversityTenure TrackNon Tenure Track
Asian33
Black/African American64
Hispanic/Latino110
NR-Alien12
Two or More Races10
White5829
Student Sex DiversityGraduateUndergraduate
Male300184
Female774792
Student Race/Ethnicity DiversityGraduateUndergraduate
Asian3717
Black/African American9330
Hispanic/Latino6756
NR-Alien16312
Two or More Races3730
White659792
Unknown133
American Indian2--
Native Hawaiian - Other Pacific Islander3--

  • Community Conversations: connected with faculty, staff, and students from different units, in a monthly forum to foster in-depth dialogue around where we are as a School and how we may practically approach and work towards our diversity, equity, and inclusion goals.
  • TEA Talks: an on-going series to ensure faculty, staff, and students remain engaged in and continue to champion issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  • ED Talks: featured SoE faculty and staff experts who spoke about various topics of interest in the SoE community.
  • DEI Workshops: provided interactive professional development workshops centering equity and inclusion, workshops centered preprofessionals.
  • Just Us Gatherings: informal gatherings with rotating subgroups of faculty and staff through luncheons.
  • Strategic Diversity Leadership Training: year-long diversity series for the executive leadership committee facilitated by external diversity consulting organization.
  • Establish and awarded diversity scholarships (Diggs Award, Ford Award) and outstanding work in DEI awards for faculty and staff

  • Moved full-time employees salaries to dedicated DEI budget in addition to over $37,000 for school-level DEI initiatives
  • Employed 10 students as office assistants
  • $1500 for DEI faculty award
  • $39,500 in diversity scholarships (EDUC HHSP Partnership Award, Jean Ann Ford Education Fund Award)

Assistant Dean
Carl Darnell (darnellc@iu.edu)

Assistant Director, Diversity Initiatives
Julius Hanks (ljhanks@iu.edu)

Diversity Committee Co-Chairs
Tina S. O’Neal (tsoneal@iu.edu)
Gamze Ozogul (gozogul@indiana.edu)

CEP Diversity Taskforce Chair
Barbara Dennis (bkdennis@iu.edu)

CI/LCLE DEI Committee Co-Chairs
Alycia M. Elfreich (amcgowan@iupui.edu)
Serafin Coronel-Molina (scoronel@indiana.edu)

Diversity Committee Members
Gabriele Abowd Damico (gabowd@indiana.edu)
Cindy Ann Kilgo (cakilgo@iu.edu)
Erik Jacobson (erdajaco@indiana.edu)
David Shriberg (dashri@indiana.edu)
Charlotte Agger (cagger@indiana.edu)
Quentin Wheeler-Bell (qwheeler@indiana.edu)
Ellen Vaughan (elvaugha@indiana.edu)
Iesha Sturgis-Jackson (issturgi@indiana.edu)
Da’Je’ Askew (daaskew@iu.edu)
Thomas Lister (tlister@iu.edu)

Graduate Student Ambassador
Courtney Orr (csorr@iu.edu)

Student Ambassadors
Tyrikka Bailey (tymbail@iu.edu)
Asia Burgett (aaburget@iu.edu)
Jalynn Cooper (jalycoop@iu.edu)
Jazmine Cuautle-Quintana (jacuau@iu.edu)
Theophilia Denadi (tdenadi@iu.edu)
Chloe Diaz (cgdiaz@iu.edu)
Naomi Gee (nggee@iu.edu)
Gabrielle Rasdall (grasdall@iu.edu)
Autumn Stevens (aulsteve@iu.edu)

View the 2021 School of Education Antiracist Checklist

Start your life-changing journey

Schedule a visit   Request information