Degrees & Programs

Educational Leadership

Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute Agenda

June 7, 2018

Attorneys who attend the institute may earn 5.3 general CLE credits, which includes 2.3 ethics credits, at no cost.

This event is open to the public at no cost.

  • 9:15-9:30 a.m.: Welcome & Continental Breakfast
    • Suzanne Eckes, J.D., Ph.D., Indiana University
    • Janet R. Decker, J.D., Ph.D., Indiana University
  • 9:30-10:45 a.m.: Hot Topics & New Cases in 2017-2018
    • John Rumel, J.D., University of Idaho College of Law
    • Tom Bunger, J.D., Bunger & Robertson
    • Martha McCarthy, Ph.D., Loyola Marymount University
    • Michele Moore, Ed.D., Metropolitan School District of Martinsville

    Facilitator: Allison Fetter-Harrott, J.D., Ph.D., Franklin College
    Location: School of Education Auditorium

  • 11:00 am-12:00 pm: Breakout Sessions on Hot Topics in Education Law

    Each breakout session will be facilitated by a panelist or facilitator from the Hot Topics and New Cases panel.

    Location: Classrooms in the School of Education

  • 12:10-1:30 pm: IUSAA Awards and Keynote Speaker (lunch provided)
    • Keynote with Kenneth J. Falk, J.D., American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana

    Location: School of Education Atrium

  • 1:40-2:50 pm: Hot Topics in Policy
    • Marsha Bugalla, J.D., Indiana Department of Education
    • Michelle Mbekeani-Wiley, J.D., Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law
    • Hardy Murphy, Ph.D., IUPUI School of Education & Center on Education & Lifelong Learning, Indiana University
    • Lisa Tanselle, J.D., Indiana School Boards Association

    Facilitator: Chris Lubienski, Ph.D., Indiana University
    Location: School of Education Auditorium

  • 3:00-4:00 pm: Tea & Policy Topic Tables

    Participants can select among tables with designated policy topics for discussions facilitated by panelists & facilitator of the policy panel. Refreshments will be provided.

    Location: School of Education Atrium

If you are an administrator who would like to authorize your school or district’s teachers who attend this event to earn PGP points, please email the conference coordinator, Colleen Chesnut (

Register Now