New department chairs named

From left to right: Ana Maria Brannan, Chad Lochmiller, and Beth Lewis Samuelson

Beginning this month, two departments at the IU School of Education will have new chairs.

Associate Professor Ana Maria Brannan is the new Department Chair of Curriculum & Instruction.

“Guiding a department of this considerable size is going to be a challenge,” Brannan said. “I feel fortunate to be working with the department’s passionate, competent and hard-working students, staff and faculty as we address the important challenges facing education and teacher preparation programs.”

Associate Professor Chad Lochmiller has been named Department Chair of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (ELPS).

“I’m grateful for the opportunity to lead the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies. I am especially excited to work with faculty, staff and students across our diverse department to foster a culture that is transparent and inclusive,” Lochmiller said. “The programs in our department prepare students to address many of today’s most important issues. These issues get to the heart of what it means to live, learn and lead in a diverse society. My hope is that students who complete our programs are ready to make productive changes in practices and policies that are essential to their schools and districts, colleges, universities and their communities.”

Beth Lewis Samuelson will continue to serve as Associate Chair of C&I.