Armstrong and Jacobs Chairs named

Anne Leftwich and Adam Maltese

Two faculty members at the IU School of Education have been named the new Armstrong and Jacobs chairs, respectively.

Anne Leftwich, Associate Professor in Instructional Systems Technology, has been named the Barbara B. Jacobs Chair in Education and Technology.

“I feel honored and privileged to be able to continue my work with K-12 teachers and support their uses of technology,” Leftwich said. “Especially during these challenging times with remote learning, it illuminates the power that technology can have in enhancing connections and engagement between administrators, teachers, and students. I look forward to working with teachers to bring innovative uses of technology for teaching and learning to more K-12 students.”

Adam Maltese, Associate Professor of Science Education and Director of the MILL, has been named the Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Chair for Teacher Education.

“When I got word I was very excited to step into this role and be a bridge between amazing educators in our state and our School of Education,” Maltese said. “My plans for the Chair over the next five years are to build off the work of previous Chairs to continue to diversify the pool of candidates and awardees who are recognized by this award so that we can try to reach every part of the state. Additionally, I plan to leverage technologies to overcome the barriers of distance or pandemic to bring these teachers into our classrooms to share their ideas and their practices with our students. Finally, I want to support these teachers so that they can become recognized advocates for the teaching profession in the state and across the country.”

Both chairs are effective July 1.