Recognizing achievements across the IU School of Education at the Celebration of Excellence

Faculty and staff gathered via Zoom this week for a virtual Celebration of Excellence. The awards ceremony honored achievements around the school and was a chance to recognize all the outstanding work in instruction and mentoring that has been done over the past year in unimaginable circumstances due to the global pandemic.

Since the last event was held in 2019, the scope of the celebration was broadened from a scope of excellence in teaching to excellence in the community.

“I want to thank those of you who are here today, and those who couldn’t make it, that make working at the IU School of Education both a pleasure and an exercise at what it means to thrive at a constant level of excellence that focuses almost entirely on making the world a better place,” Jeff Anderson, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, remarked at the ceremony. “I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else.”

The inaugural cohort of Holmes Scholars and this year’s cohort of Armstrong Teacher Educators were also introduced.

Read the full program for more information about the awards.

Award Categories:

Research, Development and Innovation Awards

Award for Outstanding Research
Zoë Peterson, Counseling and Educational Psychology

Award for Outstanding Partnership and Collaboration
Anne Leftwich, Instructional Systems Technology 

Award for Outstanding International Engagement
Laura Stachowski, Global Gateway for Teachers

Award for Outstanding Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Achievements
Rebecca Neri, Counseling and Educational Psychology

Back to top

Student Academic Center Award

Andrea Sterling, Student Academic Center 

Back to top

Associate Instructor Outstanding Teaching Awards

Mila Costa, Curriculum and Instruction
Dilnoza Kadirova, Instructional Systems Technology
Kemol Lloyd, Curriculum and Instruction
DeJon Purnell, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Montserrat Valdivia, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Jessica Zaker, Curriculum and Instruction 

Back to top

Outstanding Adjunct Instructor Award

Mike Karlin, Instructional Systems Technology

Back to top

Award for Excellence in Mentoring 

Joshua Danish, Counseling and Educational Psychology 

Back to top

Student Choice Award

Katie Cerniak, INSPIRE LLC

Back to top

Trustees Teaching Award

Janet Decker, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Patty Kubow, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Sylvia Martinez, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Rebecca Neri, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Theresa Ochoa, Curriculum and Instruction
Tina O’Neal, Curriculum and Instruction
David Shriberg, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Gus Weltsek, Curriculum and Instruction

Back to top

Holmes Scholars

Loukisha (Porter) Anderson
Nayah Boucaud
Chelsea Brinda
Karyn Housh
Aaminah Long
Brandi Loving
Donte Miller
Courtney Orr
Jessica Staten
Kevin Whitehead

Back to top

Armstrong Teacher Educator Award

2021-2022 Cohort
Jennifer Burkhead, Willow Lake Elementary, Indianapolis
Cynthia Burton-Cottrell, Lynhurst 7th and 8th Grade Center, Indianapolis
Rose Calhoun, Clay High School, South Bend
Alyssa Chew, North Putnam Middle School, Roachdale
Caroline Day, Mentone Elementary School, Mentone
Selma (Sally) Godfrey, Blackhawk Middle School. Fort Wayne
Patrice Huley, Edgewood Elementary School, Michigan City
Leah Leibacher, Eastern Greene High School, Bloomfield
Bernita McGraw, Urban Act Academy, Indianapolis
Lynn Norris, Sullivan High School, Sullivan
Stephanie Noth, Edgewood Intermediate School, Bloomington
Kelsey Pavelka, West View Elementary, Muncie
Jennifer Stahl, West Washington Jr./Sr. High, Campbellsburg
Alicia Stevens, Crestview Elementary, Indianapolis

Back to top