Armstrong teachers represent best of teaching in Indiana

Twelve teachers from around Indiana have been recognized as the 2020-2021 winners of the Armstrong Teacher Educator Award. The award is given out annually to outstanding Indiana teachers, recognizing their contributions above and beyond the job of teaching. As Armstrong educators, they share their experiences with School of Education undergraduates and work with faculty on research during the school year.

“Armstrong Teacher Educators remind us of the incredible talent and dedication to be found among our Indiana P-12 professionals, and the profound impact they make on the lives of our young people,” said Robert Kunzman, Professor and Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Chair for Teacher Education. “We are looking forward to bringing them to campus next year to share their wisdom of practice with our aspiring teacher candidates here in the School of Education. The Armstrong Teacher Educator program is a fantastic opportunity to influence future generations of teachers and their students.” 

Here is the new cohort of Armstrong teachers:

  • Brandy Abel, first grade, Edgewood Primary School, Bloomington
  • Giselle Andolz-Durón, STEM, Forest Glen Elementary School, Indianapolis
  • Mariah Brobbey, Spanish and PreAVID, Westlane Middle School, Indianapolis
  • Mary Brower, seventh and eighth grade science, Milford School, Milford
  • David Elian, seventh grade social studies, Eastwood Middle School, Indianapolis
  • Cynthia Hairston, STEM, North Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Jennifer Herold, fourth grade, James B. Eads Elementary School, Munster
  • Joy Kent, fifth grade math and science, Merrillville Intermediate School, Merrillville
  • Heather Meunier, English, Avon High School, Avon
  • Ashley Monroe, sixth grade science, Westlane Middle School, Indianapolis
  • Katie Pourcho, art, Danville North Elementary School, Danville
  • Ryan Throop-Voors, sixth grade math and English language arts, Miami Middle School, Fort Wayne