Faculty recognized with excellence in extraordinary teaching award

From top left to bottom right: Elizabeth Boling, Marcus Croom, Janet Decker, Jessica Lester, Sylvia Martinez, Kelly Williams

Six faculty members from the IU School of Education have been recognized with the Dr. James E. Mumford Excellence in Extraordinary Teaching Awards from the IU Faculty Academy on Excellence in Teaching (FACET) Bloomington.

In 2021, FACET established the awards to recognize instructors who demonstrate notably innovative, creative and compassionate teaching in response to extraordinary events. During the inaugural year, the Mumford Awards specifically sought to highlight excellence in classroom teaching, course design and instructor-student advising in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, social justice developments and other adverse and unexpected situations. We are so thankful of the way these faculty members went above and beyond in service of their students and research during these extraordinary times.

The School of Education faculty who were recognized include:

  • Elizabeth Boling, Professor, Instructional Systems Technology
  • Marcus Croom, Assistant Professor, Literacy, Culture, and Language Education
  • Janet Decker, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
  • Jessica Lester, Associate Professor, Counseling and Educational Psychology
  • Sylvia Martinez, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
  • Kelly Williams, Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

The award was named in the memory of Dr. James E. Mumford, who built an esteemed career first as the Director of the IU Soul Revue and later as the longtime Director of the African American Choral Ensemble.