Martha Dawson Award for Outstanding Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Achievements (ODEI)

Martha Dawson Award for Outstanding Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Achievements

Each spring the School of Education Awards are made to honor Faculty work in various areas. The purpose of the Martha Dawson Award for Outstanding Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Achievements is to recognize IU School of Education faculty who have demonstrated outstanding diversity equity and inclusion achievements.

The award is limited to IUB School of Education faculty.

The Annual Merit Review Process will provide the basis for identifying candidates for these Awards. In January, a call will be sent to all faculty to nominate individuals or self-nominate for one of these awards. From these nominations/self-nominations, members of the Annual Merit Review Committees (from each department and research centers) will then identify up to 10% of their faculty, based on the award criteria, to be forwarded to the appropriate selection committee by February 15. No past recipient of these awards will be considered eligible for a second award in less than a five-year period.

$1500 will be awarded to be deposited in the awardee’s research or other account to be used for professional purposes.

The diversity committee will evaluate the overall merit of the nominees diversity, equity, and inclusion achievements. The final selection will be made based on the following criteria:

The significance and impact of the nominee’s achievements, for example: efforts to increase diversity, equity and inclusion by improving program, department, and/or School climate; efforts to enhance the success of students, staff, and faculty from underrepresented backgrounds; or enhance diversity, equity and inclusion in the community.

The nominee should prepare a succinct electronic packet of materials for the Committee reviewers, including:

  • 1-2 page statement focused on diversity, equity and inclusion achievements
  • CV



  • Marcus Croom


  • Tennisha Riley


  • Rebecca Neri


  • Barbara Dennis