Celebration of Teaching recognizes outstanding faculty

Janet Decker presents Trustee Teaching Awards and the Adjunct Instructor Teaching Award at the Celebration of Teaching

Faculty and students across the School of Education came together to honor each other at the Celebrating of Teaching ceremony this week. The event is an annual tradition to highlight excellence in instruction and mentoring around the school. Next year’s cohort of Armstrong Teachers were also introduced to the school community.

Pictures from the ceremony can be found on our Facebook page.


Associate Instructor Outstanding Teaching Awards

Victoria Abramenka, Instructional Systems Technology
Lori Burch, Curriculum and Instruction
Alex Gerber, Curriculum and Instruction
Linda Helmick, Curriculum and Instruction
Kristen Hengtgen, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Oliver Lees, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Nicole Watkins, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Casey Pennington, Literacy, Culture, and Language Education

Trustees Teaching Award

Laura Stachowski, Curriculum and Instruction
Barbara Dennis, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Leslie Rutkowski, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Jesse Steinfeldt, Counseling and Educational Psychology
Gus Weltsek, Curriculum and Instruction
Quentin Wheeler-Bell, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Adjunct Instructor Teaching Award

Lisa Hornibrook, Counseling and Educational Psychology

Student Choice Award

Kathryn Engebretson, Curriculum and Instruction

Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Chad Lochmiller, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies