The IU LGBTQ+ Culture Center fittingly occupies a house originally built for the first Dean of the School of Education, Henry Lester Smith, and his wife Johnnie Rutland Smith—two passionate champions of civil rights. This story originally appeared in Volume 2 Issue 2 of the IU Bicentennial Magazine. It is published here with permission.

Victoria Abramenka-Lachheb and Ahmed Lachheb were recently awarded the Nova Southeastern University Award for Outstanding Practice by a Graduate Student in Instructional Design by the Design and Development Division of the Association for Educational Communication and Technology (AECT).

Junior Peyton Ramsey has found himself at the center of attention, both when the IU football team is successful and going through challenges. It’s lessons like that from the field that translate to the classroom, where the secondary social studies major will one day teach.

Four alumni who made their mark on the education world were honored with this year’s Distinguished Alumni Award from the School of Education. David Ambler, Carole Ames, Marilyn Friend and Karen Schuster Webb were selected for the award because of their leadership and contributions in the fields of higher education and special education.

This month Dean Lemuel Watson and Zhu XuDong, Dean of Faculty of Education at Beijing Normal University, signed a memorandum of intent for collaboration. The memorandum broadens collaboration pathways for all faculty members from all departments of the two schools of education to work together in common areas of research, teaching and program development.

More news