2018 Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute

2018 Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute


« Back to Agenda

Suzanne EckesSuzanne Eckes, J.D., Ph.D. is a professor in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Indiana University and the current president of the Education Law Association. Her research focuses on how civil rights laws influence education policy for historically marginalized populations in schools.
Janet DeckerJanet Decker, J.D., Ph.D. is an assistant professor in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Indiana University. Her research focuses on legal and policy issues in special education, charter schools, and legal literacy of educators and administrators.
John RumelJohn Rumel, J.D. is an associate professor of law at the University of Idaho College of Law. He specializes in education law, employment and labor law, evidence, remedies, and civil procedure.
Tom BungerTom Bunger, J.D. is a partner at Bunger & Robertson law firm in Bloomington, IN. His areas of practice include school law, he represents several school corporations and public libraries, and he is a member of the National School Board Association of School Attorneys.
Martha McCarthyMartha McCarthy, Ph.D. is a Presidential Professor in Educational Leadership at Loyola Marymount University and Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus in Education Leadership and Policy Studies at Indiana University. Her research focuses on reform in leadership preparation programs and educational law and policy, including First Amendment issues pertaining to church/state relations and expression rights of students and school employees.
Michele MooreMichele Moore, Ed.D. is the superintendent of the Metropolitan School District of Martinsville and previously was the CFO and Interim Executive Director at the Central Indiana Educational Service Center in Indianapolis.
Allison Fetter-HarrottAllison Fetter-Harrott, J.D., Ph.D. is the Elmon and Lucile Williams Endowed Chair in Law and Public Service and assistant professor of political science at Franklin College. Her teaching and research focus on U.S. law and government, with special attention to civil rights and education law.
Kenneth FalkKenneth J. Falk, J.D. is the legal director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana and has served as an adjunct professor of law at the Robert H. McKinney School of Law at IUPUI. In his work at the ACLU, he has litigated and argued cases in both Indiana and federal appellate courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court.
Marsha BugaliaMarsha Bugalla, J.D. has been general counsel for the Indiana Department of Education since January 2017 and spent over thirty years in private practice representing school corporations.
Michelle Mbekeani-WileyMichelle Mbekeani-Wiley, J.D. is a staff attorney in community justice at the Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law. Her work focuses on advocacy for justice-involved Americans, including policies that reduce the collateral consequences of involvement with the criminal justice system.
Hardy MurphyHardy Murphy, Ph.D. is Clinical Professor of Educational Leadership at IUPUI and the Center on Education and Lifelong Learning at Indiana University. His teaching and research focus on culturally responsive practices and issues of disparity in discipline, teacher and principal evaluation, and educational equity.
Lisa TanselleLisa Tanselle, J.D. is General Counsel for the Indiana School Boards Association
Chris LubienskiChris Lubienski, Ph.D. is a professor in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Indiana University. His research focuses on the intersections of public and private interests in education, with a special interest in issues of equity, access, and organizational behavior.

Start your life-changing journey

Schedule a visit   Request information