2015 Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute

June 11, 2015

2015 Speakers



9:00 am – 9:15 amWelcome & Check-In

Location: Willkie Center
9:20 am – 9:30 amDean’s Welcome
Gerardo Gonzalez, Ph.D., Dean of the School of Education, Indiana University

Location: Willkie Auditorium
9:30 am – 10:45 amPanel Discussion: New Hot Topics & Cases in 2014-2015
  • Dave Emmert, J.D., Indiana School Boards Association
  • John Borkowski, J.D., Husch Blackwell
  • Janet Decker, J.D., Ph.D., Indiana University
With introduction from Stephen Harper, J.D., Indiana University

Location: Willkie Auditorium
11:00 am – 12:15 pmConcurrent Breakout Sessions

Special Populations (facilitated by Barbara Erwin, Ed.D., Indiana University)
  • Lisa Tanselle, J.D., Indiana School Boards Association
  • Maggie Paino, J.D., Indiana Department of Education
  • Jay Arthur, Ed.D., Carmel Clay Schools

Location: ED 1006

Indiana Education Reform (facilitated by Chad Lochmiller, Ph.D., Indiana University)
  • Michelle Gough McKeown, J.D., Ph.D., Indiana Charter School Board
  • Emily Richardson, J.D., Indiana Charter School Board
  • Terry Goodin, Ed.D., Crothersville Community Schools and Indiana State Representative

Location: ED 1250

Student Speech (facilitated by Concetta Raimondi, Ed.D., Indiana University)
  • Martha McCarthy, Ph.D., Loyola Marymount University
  • Allison Fetter-Harrott, J.D., Ph.D., Franklin College
  • Dena Cushenberry, Ed.D., MSD Warren Township

Location: ED 1230

Technology (facilitated by Gary Crow, Ph.D., Indiana University)
  • Justin Bathon, J.D., Ph.D., University of Kentucky
  • Matt Callison, Ph.D. student, Indiana University
  • Judy DeMuth, Ed.D., Monroe County Community School Corporation

Location: ED 1002
12:15 pm – 1:45 pmLunch
1:45 pm – 3:00 pmKeynote Address
Gary Orfield, Ph.D., UCLA Civil Rights Project

Location: Willkie Auditorium
3:15 pm – 4:30 pmPanel on LGBT Issues
  • Suzanne Eckes, J.D., Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Seamus Boyce, J.D., Church, Church, Hittle & Antrim
  • Maggie Hoernemann, Ph.D., Avon Community School Corporation
With introduction from Teresa James and Jake Allen

Location: Willkie Auditorium
4:30 pm – 5:30 pmStudent Showcase
  • Lucie Cyliax, Susan and the Bathroom
  • Stephanie Edelen, Zero Tolerance for the Zero Tolerance Discipline Policy
  • Priscilla Gyanewa Osei-Bonsu, Homeschooled Kids
  • Carolyn Hairston, Native Hawaiian, Alaskan Native, and Native American Populations: Exploring Ethnocentric Charter Schools in Context and Their Relevant Legal Issues
  • Chelsea Korth, School Leader Interview About Legal Issues
  • Ricky LaFosse, Online Education and the Americans with Disabilities Act
  • Benjamin Legge, School Uniforms in Public Schools
  • Patrick Ober, Interviewing Law School Attorneys
  • Keshia Seitz, Pregnant and Parenting Students
  • Emily Swartz, Interviewing School Law Attorneys
  • Kathy Warren, LegalNotes Workshop #1: Student Expression
  • Kimberli Williams, The Invisibility of Educating Students with Disabilities in the Juvenile Corrections System

Location: School of Education, 2nd Floor Atrium
5:00 pm – 6:00 pmWomen’s Network: Mentoring through Service Learning
Linda Hoke Sinex, Ph.D., Indiana University

Location: ED 3017
5:00 pm – 6:00 pmIUSAA Executive Committee Meeting

Location: ED 4204
6:00 pm – 6:30 pmIUSAA Cocktail Reception
Sponsored by EMCOR Construction Services

Location: School of Education, 1st Floor Atrium
6:30 pmIUSAA BBQ & Awards Ceremony
  • Jeff Hauswald, Berkley Emerging Leader Award
  • Jon Bennett, Outstanding Leadership and Contribution to Education Award

Location: School of Education, 1st Floor Atrium