Alumni win IACTE future educator award

Seven recent graduates of the IU School of Education have won the Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Outstanding Future Educator Award for 2021.

Award recipients must demonstrate a range of inspiring work and leadership in working with students or as part of the profession that models the commitment and dedication necessary for all outstanding future educators. This year the seven awardees were nominated from a pool of more than 300 student teachers.

All graduated in May with their degrees.


Samantha Preston

Teaching All Learners Elementary

Zackary Lopez

Secondary Life Science Biology

Mikayla Smith

Secondary Social Studies

Abilynn Ebler

Teaching All Learners Elementary

Sheila Raghavendran

Transition to Teach English

Emily Richards

Transition to Teach Life Science Biology

Rachel Wilburn

Transition to Teach Social Studies