Award for Outstanding International Engagement

Award for Outstanding International Engagement


The purpose of this award is to recognize IU School of Education faculty who have demonstrated outstanding internationally-related achievements. 


The award is limited to IUB School of Education faculty.

Each spring the School of Education Awards are made to honor Faculty work in various areas. The Annual Merit Review Process will provide the basis for identifying candidates for these Awards. In January, a call will be sent to all faculty to nominate individuals or self-nominate for one of these awards. From these nominations/self-nominations, members of the Annual Merit Review Committees (from each department and research centers) will then identify up to 10% of their faculty, based on the award criteria, to be forwarded to the appropriate selection committee by February 15. No past recipient of these awards will be considered eligible for a second award in less than a five-year period

Award Amount

$1500 will be awarded to be deposited in the awardee’s research or other account to be used for professional purposes.


The International Programs Committee will evaluate the overall merit of nominees’ international achievements. The final selection will be made based on the following criteria:

  • The significance of the nominee’s practice, engagement, research, external partnership(s), and/or other collaboration(s).
  • The impact of those activities for advancing the School’s research, teaching, and service missions.
  • The reach of those activities across the local, state, national, and international contexts that benefit from them.

Nomination Materials (to be prepared by the nominee)

  1. Statement (no more than 3 single-spaced pages) of international engagement including:
    1. Statement of perspectives, experiences, and/or theoretical frameworks that drive the nominee’s internationally-related efforts
    2. Summary of achievements with recent work highlighted
  2. Full curriculum vita with recent internationally-related work highlighted
  3. Letter(s) from partners/collaborators/colleagues attesting to the nature and significance of the work’s impact (no more than 2 single-spaced pages). No more than two letters will be reviewed.