View online.  
School of Education
HESA Highlights
September 2018
HESA Alumnus becomes new Dean of the IU SOE
Dr. Lemuel Watson (Ph.D. ‘94) was recently selected as the new dean of the School of Education. Dr. Watson’s responsibilities as the new dean include overseeing the school’s award-winning undergraduate teacher education and graduate programs, continuing to strengthen its Global Gateway for Teachers program, and actively engaging in collaborations with local and regional community partners. Dr. Watson is a widely published Fulbright Scholar and internationally known expert in higher education and policy. Watson had previously served as dean of the College of Education and director of the South Carolina Center for Educational Partnerships, dean of the College of Education at Northern Illinois University, and dean for the Division of Academic Support at Heartland College. Watson began his new appointment at Indiana University, Bloomington on August 1st.
Adrienne Thompson receives NODA’s Catalyst Grant
Adrienne Thompson (M.S. Ed. 12) was the recipient of this year’s NODA’s Catalyst Grant along with several colleagues. The OTR Catalyst Grant is designed to catalyze new research that will advance both knowledge and best practices in orientation, transition, and retention. Thompson and her colleagues received the grant for their research on the “Perceptions of Sense of Belonging in Transfer Students.” Adrienne also recently received her PhD from George Mason University in August 2018!
Stefanie Niles serves as NACAC President-Elect
Dr. Stefanie Niles (M.S.Ed. ‘96) is serving as the president-elect for the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC). NACAC is an organization dedicated to providing counseling and admission professionals with the expert advice and tools they need to better serve students and improve the college transition process. Niles is currently the Vice President for Enrollment and Communications at Ohio Wesleyan University.
Shavonne Holton receives Equity, Inclusion, & Advocacy Award
Shavonne Holton (M.S.Ed. ‘14) received the Equity, Inclusion, and Advocacy award during the Purdue Polytechnic Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon in April 2018. She was acknowledged for her efforts to redesign marketing materials to be more inclusive of women and URM's, recommend women and URM students for professional development funding, and her service on the National Council for Women in Technology committee to retain female students in technology programs. In her current role, Holton serves as an Academic Advisor for the Department of Computer and Information Technology at Purdue University.
Daniel Maxwell receives AVP/Senior Level Student Affairs Professional Award
Dr. Daniel Maxwell (Ed.D. ‘16)  was the recipient of the AVP/Senior Level Student Affairs Professional Award at the NASPA Region III Summer Symposium this June in New Orleans. This award honors a student affairs professional at the AVP or senior-level whose outstanding commitment to the profession includes development of programs that address the needs of students, creation of a campus environment that promotes student learning and development, and support of and active engagement in NASPA. Maxwell is currently the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs for the University of Houston System and the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs at the University of Houston.
Kyle Fassett is awarded Gamma Mu Scholarship
Kyle Fassett, current doctoral candidate in the Higher Education Program at IU, was recently selected for the national Gamma Mu Scholarship. This organization provides support to gay men who want to further their education at a college, university, or vocational or professional training program. The Gamma Mu Foundation’s mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of the LGBT community, primarily in rural and other underserved populations of the United States.
Jesse Perez Mendez is named Founding Dean of the IUPUI School of Education
Dr. Jesse Perez Mendez (Ph.D. '06) has been named founding dean of the Indiana University School of Education at IUPUI. Mendez previously served as associate dean for academic affairs at the College of Education and Human Performance at the University of Central Florida, administering the undergraduate, clinical experiences and graduate programs of the college. Mendez has also held leadership roles at Oklahoma State University and Northern Oklahoma College. In his new role, Mendez will lead the School of Education at IUPUI as it enhances its urban education programming and expands efforts related to school administration, teacher and counselor training, curriculum development, and educational technology, among other areas.
Yakaboski, T., Perozzi, B. (2018). Internationalizing US Student Affairs Practice. New York: Routledge.
HESA Highlights is a monthly newsletter distributed to Indiana University's Higher Education and Student Affairs community members and its affiliates. Through the newsletter, colleagues are able to share exciting news with one another regarding professional development opportunities, funding opportunities, personal achievements, and other interesting news. If you have personal or professional news to share with HESA Highlights, email Amy Nunez at
Connect with us on Facebook. Connect with us on Twitter. Connect with us on YouTube
%%Member_City%%, %%Member_State%% %%Member_PostalCode%%
%%[ VAR @FirstName, @LastName, @Email Set @FirstName = AttributeValue("First Name") Set @LastName = AttributeValue("Last Name") Set @Email = AttributeValue("emailaddr") ]%% This message is intended for %%=iif(empty(@FirstName),"",@FirstName)=%% %%=iif(empty(@FirstName),"", @LastName)=%% (%%emailaddr%%). Learn why we’re including this:
To update communication preferences, visit the Profile Center.