Bloomington Student Grievance Hearing Committee Annual Report to Policy Committee April 11, 2003

The Bloomington Student Grievance Hearing Committee (BSGHC) promulgated the revised "Student Appeals Procedures" document approved by the Policy Council last spring so that it is readily available to students in the Office of Teacher Education as well as on the School of Education's web site.

The Committee held an organizational meeting on October 17. The Committee agreed that:

- when the chair appoints a hearing board, the chair of that board will be designed by the committee chair
- graduate students can appeal program decisions, such as transfer of credits, to the Student Grievance Hearing Committee. Similar program appeals at the undergraduate level are handled by the Professional Standards Committee.

The Committee heard no student appeals this year.

CAC Members 2002-2003:

Sheri Anderson

Barbara Bichelmeyer

Elizabeth Boling

Sara Christensen Undergraduate Student

Hasan Deniz Graduate Student

Lee Ehman Chair

Amy Seely Flint

Diana Lambdin Ex Officio

Gerardo Lopez

Monica Mills Undergraduate Student

Mike Tracy Lara Zabawa