SCHOOL OF EDUCATION

Spring Faculty Meeting April 8, 2005 11:15 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Auditorium-BL

Distance connections to ES2101-IN, Main 156H-CO

I. Welcome and Call to Order

Dean Gonzalez welcomed all faculty and staff present to the Spring 2005 faculty meeting. A moment was silence was given in honor of Dr. Kipchoge Kirkland.

II. Honoring Faculty who are Retiring

The following retiring faculty members were honored for their service to the School of Education:

Enid Zimmerman, Art Education Michael Molenda, IST Dan Mueller, CEP

III. Dean's Report and Budget Presentation (IUB and IUPUI)

Dean Gonzalez reported on the state of the School of Education. He noted that the school was doing exceedingly well according to all indicators, including faculty, alumni, and student contributions. The Dean discussed the future budget and its potential impact on the School of Education (See PowerPoint presentation).

IV. Update on the Carnegie Initiative on the Doctorate

Dr. Luisa McCarty presented an update the Carnegie Initiative on the Doctorate: Strengthening our Ph.D. degree (See PowerPoint presentation).

V. Follow-up Study of Teacher Education Graduates

Ada Simmons from the Center for Evaluation and Education Policy (CEEP) presented the results for the "Follow-up Study of IUB Teacher Education Graduates." The presentation and complete report may be found on the following website: http://www.indiana.edu/~tep/soe_alumni_study.html.

VI. General Announcements and Discussions

Dean Gonzalez offered congratulations to the following professors who received promotions and/or tenure:

Nancy Chism – promoted to the rank of Professor

Pat Rogan – promoted to the rank of Professor

Mary Howard-Hamilton – promoted to the rank of Professor

Diana Lambdin – promoted to the rank of Professor

Vasti Torres – granted tenure

Dean Gonzalez announced that the following individuals have been hired as new faculty members for the 2005-2006 school year:

Dionne Danns – ELPS

Kenneth Kelley – CEP Ken Hay – Learning Sciences Dan Hicks – Learning Sciences Tarajean Yazzie Mintz – C & I Thomas Nelson Laird – HESA/ELPS

Pete Kloosterman and Amy Sutley announced that the following staff members have received the Staff Bonus Awards for the 2004-2005 school year:

Letha Taylor Bill Lundy Jane Benjamin Heather Warren

Dean Gonzalez announced that there will be a memorial service for Dr. Kipchoge Kirkland today, Friday, April 8, 2005 at 4:00 p.m. in the Neil-Marshall Black Cultural Center.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.